> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](https://docs.tessell.com/tessell/llms.txt). Markdown versions of documentation pages are available by appending `.md` to page URLs; this page is available as [Markdown](https://docs.tessell.com/tessell/database-engines/tessell-for-mysql/db-services/readme-mysql/managing-services-mysql.md).

# Managing services

To manage a database service, hover over the ellipsis icon (︙) at the right corner of the service. This icon provides options to Stop, Edit, or Delete the service. These options are also available on the database service home page.

### Stop the service

1. Select **Stop** to stop the database service. A confirmation window appears, reminding you that stopping the service disconnects all active sessions.
2. Optionally, add comments to provide details about your action. Select the **Are you sure you want to continue?** check box.
3. After you select the check box, the **Stop** button becomes enabled.
4. Click **Stop** to stop the database service. The status changes to **Stopping**, then to **Stopped** once the service is completely stopped.

   After the service is stopped, the **Start** option appears on the ellipsis icon.

> **Notes**:
>
> * This option is unavailable when stop protection is enabled.
> * To optimize your database costs, you can stop the service during periods such as daily development, testing, and training.
> * Stop operation is not allowed if a DR/RR instance is added to the database service. Tessell's service management is designed to ensure data integrity and replication continuity between primary and standby instances. DR/RR is an asynchronous replica compared to a synchronous HA setup. Hence, the stop option is disabled for DR/RR configurations.

### Edit the service

1. Select **Edit** to edit the database service. The **Edit service** window appears and allows you to:
   * Edit the name of the database service.
   * Edit the description of the database service.
   * Toggle **Enable delete protection** to prevent the database service from being deleted. This option is disabled by default.
   * Toggle **Enable stop protection** to prevent the database service from being stopped. This option is disabled by default.
   * Toggle **Enable auto minor version update** to enable or disable automatic minor version updates.
2. After making the required edits, click **Update** to apply the changes.

### Delete the service

1. Select **Delete** to delete the database service. The Delete confirmation window pops up with the warning "This action cannot be undone. Please read carefully."
2. Select the **Take a final snapshot before deletion** check box to create a standalone manual snapshot immediately before the service is deleted. This snapshot is independent of the Availability Machine — it does not depend on retaining incremental backups, binary logs, or the Availability Machine to remain usable.
   * Specify a name in the **Snapshot Name** field, or use the auto-generated name.
3. Select whether to retain the Availability Machine using the **Retain existing data in the Availability Machine** check box.
4. If you select this check box, choose one of the following options:
   * **All existing data (snapshots, backups, binary logs and DAPs)** — Availability Machine and all its current contents are retained and continue to age out per the existing RPO policy.
     * Service Availability Machine and Azure/AWS NetApp Files volumes are retained, and one snapshot is taken before the service is deleted.
     * Manual snapshots are retained, automated snapshots and binary logs are deleted as per the SLA.
     * Data access policies are retained until they are manually deleted.
   * **Starred snapshots & backups only** — Retains only the snapshots and backups you have marked as starred. All other snapshots, backups, binary logs, and DAPs are deleted. This reduces the storage retained after deletion. For more information on starring snapshots and backups, see [Star a snapshot or backup](/tessell/database-engines/tessell-for-mysql/db-services/am-mysql.md#star-a-snapshot-or-backup).
5. If you clear the **Retain existing data in the Availability Machine** check box, the Availability Machine and the database service are both deleted. All existing snapshots, data access policies, and logs of the database service across all regions are deleted.

   **Note**: If you selected **Take a final snapshot before deletion** in step 2, that snapshot is retained independently, even if you clear this check box.
6. Optionally, select **Add comments** to provide any details regarding the action.
7. Type the exact service name in the confirmation field to confirm.

**Note**: This option is unavailable when delete protection is enabled.

**Note**: A final snapshot taken during deletion is a standalone recoverable object. It does not support point-in-time recovery (PITR), since PITR requires the binary logs and incremental backup chain that are not retained with this option.


---

# Agent Instructions
This documentation is published with GitBook. GitBook is the documentation platform designed so that both humans and AI agents can read, navigate, and reason over technical content effectively. Learn more at gitbook.com.

## Querying This Documentation
If you need additional information that is not directly available in this page, you can query the documentation dynamically by asking a question.

Perform an HTTP GET request on the current page URL with the `ask` query parameter, and the optional `goal` query parameter:

```
GET https://docs.tessell.com/tessell/database-engines/tessell-for-mysql/db-services/readme-mysql/managing-services-mysql.md?ask=<question>&goal=<endgoal>
```

`ask` is the immediate question: it should be specific, self-contained, and written in natural language.
`goal` is optional and describes the broader end goal you are ultimately trying to accomplish on behalf of the user. GitBook uses it to tailor the answer towards what is most useful for that goal.

The response will contain a direct answer to the question and relevant excerpts and sources from the documentation.

Use this mechanism when the answer is not explicitly present in the current page, you need clarification or additional context, or you want to retrieve related documentation sections.
