Managing services
To manage a database service, hover over the ellipsis icon (︙) at the right corner of the service. This icon provides options to Stop, Edit, or Delete the service. These options are also available on the database service home page.
Stop the service
Select Stop to stop the database service. A confirmation window appears, reminding you that stopping the service disconnects all active sessions.
Optionally, add comments to provide details about your action. Select the Are you sure you want to continue? check box.
After you select the check box, the Stop button becomes enabled.
Click Stop to stop the database service. The status changes to Stopping, then to Stopped once the service is completely stopped.
After the service is stopped, the Start option appears on the ellipsis icon.
Notes:
This option is unavailable when stop protection is enabled.
Both the database and the VM are stopped if there is only one service.
To optimize your database costs, you can stop the service during periods such as daily development, testing, and training.
Stop operation is not allowed if a DR/RR instance is added to the database service. Tessell's service management is designed to ensure data integrity and replication continuity between primary and standby instances. DR/RR is an asynchronous replica compared to a synchronous HA setup. Hence, the stop option is disabled for DR configurations.
Edit the service
Select Edit to edit the database service. The Edit service window appears and allows you to:
Edit the name of the database service.
Edit the description of the database service.
Toggle Enable delete protection to prevent the database service from being deleted. This option is disabled by default.
Toggle Enable stop protection to prevent the database service from being stopped. This option is disabled by default.
Toggle Enable auto minor version update to enable or disable automatic minor version updates.
After making the required edits, click Update to apply the changes.
Delete the service
Select Delete to delete the database service. The Delete confirmation window pops up with the warning "This action cannot be undone. Please read carefully."
Select the Take a final snapshot before deletion check box to create a standalone manual snapshot immediately before the service is deleted. This snapshot is independent of the Availability Machine — it does not depend on retaining incremental backups, WAL logs, or the Availability Machine to remain usable.
Specify a name in the Snapshot Name field, or use the auto-generated name.
Select whether to retain the Availability Machine using the Retain existing data in the Availability Machine check box.
If you select this check box, choose one of the following options:
All existing data (snapshots, backups, WAL logs and DAPs) — Availability Machine and all its current contents are retained and continue to age out per the existing RPO policy.
Service Availability Machine and Azure/AWS NetApp Files volumes are retained, and one snapshot is taken before the service is deleted.
Manual snapshots are retained, automated snapshots and WAL logs are deleted as per the SLA.
Data access policies are retained until they are manually deleted.
Starred snapshots & backups only — Retains only the snapshots and backups you have marked as starred. All other snapshots, backups, WAL logs, and DAPs are deleted. This reduces the storage retained after deletion. For more information on starring snapshots and backups, see Star a snapshot or backup.
If you clear the Retain existing data in the Availability Machine check box, the Availability Machine and the database service are both deleted. All existing snapshots, data access policies, and logs of the database service across all regions are deleted.
Note: If you selected Take a final snapshot before deletion in step 2, that snapshot is retained independently, even if you clear this check box.
Optionally, select Add comments to provide any details regarding the action.
Type the exact service name in the confirmation field to confirm.
Note: This option is unavailable when delete protection is enabled.
Note: A final snapshot taken during deletion is a standalone recoverable object. It does not support point-in-time recovery (PITR), since PITR requires the WAL logs and incremental backup chain that are not retained with this option.
Last updated
Was this helpful?