Managing services
To manage a database service, hover over the ellipsis icon (︙) at the right corner of the service. This icon gives options to Stop, Edit, or Delete the service. These options are also available on the database service home page.
Stop the service
Select Stop to stop the database services. On selecting this option, a window pops up reminding you that stopping the service disconnects all the sessions.
Optionally, you can add comments to provide details regarding your action to stop the database service. Also, there is a check box asking “Are you sure you want to continue?”.
After you select the check box, the Stop button gets enabled.
Click the Stop button to stop the database service. The status of the database service changes to Stopping, the status turns to Stopped after the database service is completely stopped. After your database service is stopped, you can see the option to Start the database service on the ellipsis icon.
Notes:
This option is unavailable when stop protection is enabled.
Both the database and the VM are stopped if there is only one service.
To optimize your database costs, you can stop the service for activities such as daily development, testing, and training.
Stop operation is not allowed if a DR instance is added to the database service. Tessell’s service management is designed to ensure data integrity and replication continuity between primary and standby instances. DR is an asynchronous replica compared to synchronous on HA set-up. Hence the stop option is disabled for DR configuration.
Edit the service
Select Edit to edit the database service. The Edit service window pops up that allows to:
Edit the name of the database service.
Edit the description of the database service.
To enable delete protection, toggle the Enable delete protection button. It is disabled by default. When you enable this option, it does not allow you to delete the database service. This helps to safeguard against mistaken deletes.
To enable stop protection, toggle the Enable stop protection button. It is disabled by default. When you enable this option, it does not allow you to stop the database service.
To enable/disable auto minor version update, toggle the Enable auto minor version update button.
After the required edits, click the Update button to apply the changes.
Delete the service
Select Delete to delete the database service. The Delete confirmation window pops up with the warning "This action cannot be undone. Please read carefully."
Select the Take a final snapshot before deletion check box to create a standalone manual snapshot immediately before the service is deleted. This snapshot is independent of the Availability Machine — it does not depend on retaining incremental backups, transaction logs, or the Availability Machine to remain usable.
Specify a name in the Snapshot Name field, or use the auto-generated name.
Select whether to retain the Availability Machine using the Retain existing data in the Availability Machine check box.
If you select this check box, choose one of the following options:
All existing data (snapshots, backups, transaction logs and DAPs) — Availability Machine and all its current contents are retained and continue to age out per the existing RPO policy.
Service Availability Machine and Azure/AWS NetApp Files volumes are retained, and one snapshot is taken before the service is deleted.
Manual snapshots are retained, automated snapshots and transaction logs are deleted as per the SLA.
Data access policies are retained until they are manually deleted.
Starred snapshots & backups only — Retains only the snapshots and backups you have marked as starred. All other snapshots, backups, transaction logs, and DAPs are deleted. This reduces the storage retained after deletion. For more information on starring snapshots and backups, see Star a snapshot or backup.
If you clear the Retain existing data in the Availability Machine check box, the Availability Machine and the database service are both deleted. All existing snapshots, data access policies, and logs of the database service across all regions are deleted.
Note: If you selected Take a final snapshot before deletion in step 2, that snapshot is retained independently, even if you clear this check box.
Optionally, select Add comments to provide any details regarding the action.
Type the exact service name in the confirmation field to confirm.
Note: This option is unavailable when delete protection is enabled.
Note: A final snapshot taken during deletion is a standalone recoverable object. It does not support point-in-time recovery (PITR), since PITR requires the transaction logs and incremental backup chain that are not retained with this option.
Last updated
Was this helpful?